Now Accepting 2020 Award Nominations!


ACWWA provides applicable AWWA and WEF awards, and ACWWA awards such as the MacNab Award, and awards for Volunteer of the Year, Project of the Year, and Operator of the Year.


To read descriptions of each award and to make nominations click HERE.


To view past recipients of each award click HERE.




Congratulations to all of our award recipients for 2019!


The following awards were presented at the 2019 ACWWA Conference in Halifax, NS to recognize the contributions of some of our best and brightest colleagues, and their excellence and significant achievements in the field of water and wastewater collection, treatment and distribution. 

The George Warren Fuller Award is awarded by the American Water Works Association (AWWA) and may be presented annually to a member of ACWWA for distinguished service in the water supply field in commemoration of the sound engineering skill, the brilliant diplomatic talent and the constructive leadership that characterized the life of George Warren Fuller. The award was established in 1937 in memory of Mr. Fuller who, besides being identified with several important sanitary engineering advances, is given much of the credit for AWWA’s development from a social group to its’ present high standing as a technical organization.

2019 Recipient:

Mike Chaulk, CBCL, NS


The Ira P MacNab Award is awarded by ACWWA and may be presented annually to a member of the ACWWA for outstanding service to the water industry in Atlantic Canada. The award was established in 1957 when the ACWWA was called the Maritime Branch of the Canadian Section AWWA. It is in honour of the late Dr. Ira MacNab, P.Eng., the first president of the Maritime Branch, for his untiring efforts and wise council during our formative years and to recognize his outstanding service and interest in the local water utility field.

2019 Recipients:

Cathy Cameron, Halifax, NS

Tom Cameron, Halifax, NS


The Silent Hero Award is presented annually by ACWWA to recognize outstanding contributions of water and wastewater operators in each of the four Atlantic Canada provinces.

2019 Recipient:

Nigel Crouse, Halifax Water, NS 


The Young Professional of the Year Award is presented annually by ACWWA to recognize a Young Professional within ACWWA for outstanding contributions to the water & wastewater industry, and to the ACWWA Young Professionals’ committee.

2019 Recipient:

Lindsay Anderson, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS


The Contribution Award may be presented annually to recognize outstanding contributions by an individual or a group of individual volunteers to ACWWA programs and/or the water industry throughout Atlantic Canada.

2019 Recipient:

Wendy Krkosek, Halifax Water, NS


The Project of the Year Award is awarded by ACWWA to a Municipality or Utility and their Consultant, one of which is a member of ACWWA, to recognize outstanding projects in Atlantic Canada that demonstrate innovation and state-of-the-art technology in water or wastewater projects. 

2019 Recipient

< 5,000 Customers

ADI Systems - Evoqua Water Technologies Canada & EISI


The 5S Shovel was originated to encourage members to "get involved."  You cannot join the Society -- you must be "selected" -- on the basis of merit.

2019 Recipients:

Tom Kunetz, Chicago, IL

Theresa O'Grady, Chicago, IL

Steve Gregory, Fredericton, NB

John Lam, Halifax, NS

Lisa Ruane, Virginia, USA

Walt Marlowe, Virginia, USA